SPIRE News and Events

Critical Analysis of Scientific Literature
SPIRE scholars Gordy and Sandefur increase students' critical thinking skills at UNC Pembroke...

Defelice Wins Teaching Award
Former SPIRE scholar Dr. Meredith Defelice wins award at Penn State University...

Former Scholars Publish in CBE Life Sciences Education
Measuring students' conceptions of evolutionary processes...

SPIRE Scholars Transition to Faculty Positions
Three scholars accept positions at institutions across the country.

Undergraduates Accepted to Conferences
Three students from partner universities present their summer research projects.

SPIRE Scholars win Awards
Three current scholars recognized by the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs

SPIRE Summer Research Program 2013
SPIRE welcomes five undergraduate students for summer research experiences
Former SPIRE Scholars earn tenure
Baines and Silver Key are promoted to Associate Professors
Former scholar wins teaching award
Meredith Defelice (Rosser) wins teaching award at Penn State University

Tenlen and McCaskill publish research
Postdoc and undergraduate student collaboration
SPIRE Scholars Develop and Teach New Courses at North Carolina's Minority Serving Institutions
Five scholars are currently teaching and mentoring undergraduates...
Two SPIRE Scholars Accept Academic Appointments and Work to Inspire Next Generation of Scientists
Michelle Kovarik and Justin Shaffer are the latest scholars to accept faculty positions...
Distinguished Scholar Seminar 2012
SPIRE welcomes Catherine Drennan
SPIRE scholars received awards
Several scholars recognized for research and mentorship
Distinguished Scholar Seminar 2011
SPIRE welcomes Diane Ebert-May
SPIRE featured in Bioscience
Read about SPIRE's outcomes and impacts...
SPIRE Fellow Karl Castillo's Research
Publication in PLoS One...
SPIRE Undergraduate Summer Research Program
welcomes six undergraduate students from our partner MSIs to campus for summer research experiences
Two SPIRE Scholars Receive Recognition
Dr. Schmitz and Dr. Chunco recognized at the 2010 Postdoctoral Scholar Awards Ceremony
SPIRE Welcomes New Fellows to the Program
Fall 2009 brings a diverse group of new Fellows with a broad range of backgrounds to join the SPIRE program...
9th Annual Distinguished Scholar Seminar
Information about the seminar..
NIH New Innovator Award - Dr. Karin Pfennig
Former SPIRE fellow Dr. Karin Pfennig was recently awarded the 2008 National Institutes of Health New Innovator Award...
SPIRE Scholars Develop and Teach New Courses at North Carolina's Minority Serving Institutions
Five scholars are currently teaching and mentoring undergraduates...
2008 IRACDA Conference
Recap and resources...
2008 IRACDA Conference
Agenda updated 5/14/08
Johnson C. Smith Undergraduate Earns Research Fellowship
Brittany Miles, a biology major at JCSU, awarded research fellowship from the SEEDS program...
Former SPIRE Fellow Dr. Kristen Walton Awarded Research Recognition Award
Dr. Kristen Walton, a former SPIRE fellow and now Assistant Professor at Missouri Western State University, received the Research...
Former SPIRE Fellow Recognized as Departmental Teacher of the Year
Dr. Roberto Frontera-Suau, assistant professor of biology, is one of four faculty members honored for contributions to students and education at North Carolina's Elizabeth City State University.
2006 SPIRE Research Symposium Enjoyed by Faculty, Researchers, SPIRE Scholars and Undergraduates
Noted neurobiologist Dr. Erich D. Jarvis receives a warm welcome as keynote speaker...
SPIRE's 6th Annual Distinguished Scholar Seminar
SPIRE's 2005 Distinguished Scholar Seminar enjoyed by faculty, administrators, students and visitors.